Obtaining an Accident Report in Dallas
How to Order a Crash Report in Dallas
The Dallas area is composed of many cities and municipalities. If you are involved in a automobile accident and need a copy of an accident report in Dallas, call 214-671-3375 or 214-671-3345. These are phone numbers provided by the Dallas Police Department that will direct you to resources on how to obtain a copy of an accident report in the city.
Ordering a Crash Report in Dallas County
If you are involved in an accident in Dallas County, there is an online portal where you can order an e-crash report. They provide a disclaimer that explains reports may not be available until 48 hours after the accident; however, if you need a copy of a crash report quickly in Dallas County, you can access the portal here.
How to Order an Accident Report in Addison, Texas
Addison is an incorporated town located within Dallas County. Just North of the City of Dallas, if you are involved in an accident in Addison, call 972-450-7156 to obtain a crash report. According to the Addison Police Department, there are 2 ways you can order an accident report in Addison:
- Copies of a Texas Peace Officer’s crash report are available for purchase online at https://cris.txdot.gov/public/Purchase. These reports can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week after it’s been added to the database.
- Addison accident reports are also available for purchase in person or by mail through the Records Department of the Addison Police Department. You can purchase a crash report this way by sending a check or money order to 4799 Airport Parkway, Addison, Texas 75001-9010. For more details on what to include visit addisontexas.net.
How to Order a Crash Report in Richardson, Texas
If you want to order a crash report in Richardson, call 972-744-4836. Richardson is an inner suburb of Dallas. The Richardson Police Department provides 2 ways to access crash reports within the municipality:
- Online copies of a crash report can be accessed through the Texas Department of Transportation’s reporting portal.
- A physical copy of a crash report can be accessed through the Richardson Police Department’s Records Unit. To obtain a copy of an accident report, bring the completed form, with the $6.00 fee, anytime during office hours – Monday through Friday 8 am to 5 pm.
How Long Does it Take To Get an Accident Report?
When ordering a crash report through the Texas Department of Transportation, it may take 7 to 10 days before the report is available for purchase. Local resources provided by a municipality’s police department or private reporting systems may be avenues one can use to obtain a copy of a crash report sooner. Each municipality has different protocol in place for how they handle requests for accident reports.
For more information on how to order crash reports in other Texas cities, check out our Katy and Houston pages.
Accidents in Dallas
The City of Dallas is home to more than 1 million people. This doesn’t account for the people who drive into the city everyday, whether it be to visit, for work or just driving through. If you or someone you love has been injured in an accident in Dallas, call 800-298-0111 for a free case evaluation with an experienced lawyer.
At Simmons and Fletcher, P.C., our attorneys have been serving victims in Texas since 1979. Feel free to check out our web page with more information on what to do after a car accident.
Paul Cannon has practiced personal injury trial law since 1995. He is Board Certified in Personal Injury Trial Law (2005). He has earned recognition as a Super Lawyer by Thompson Reuters in 2017 & 2018, and as a Top 100 Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association in 2017. He is a Shareholder, trial lawyer and online marketing manager at Simmons and Fletcher, P.C. His legal writings have been published by the Texas Bar Journal, Business.com, Lawyer.com HG Legal Resources, Lawfirms.com, and others. He has been asked to give education talks and media interviews on dog bite law.