Lyft & Uber Accident Lawyers in Houston, TX
Were You Injured Due to A Uber or Lyft Drivers Negligence?
If you were injured during one of these rides, you need an attorney that knows how to fight the insurance companies that provide coverage for these ride share corporations
The Houston Uber accident lawyers at Simmons and Fletcher, P.C. Injury & Accident Lawyers can help. Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft have been rapidly expanding across the United States as a more reasonably-priced alternative to riding in taxicabs. Because they are not subject to the strict regulation of taxicabs, their drivers do not undergo the same training or testing that a taxicab company may require. Due to this lack of oversight, you will never know for sure what kind of experience the driver has.
If you were involved in a collision with a Lyft driver or an Uber driver in Houston and surrounding areas, you need to consult a car accident lawyer in Houston.
What is the Duty of Care for Uber and Lyft Drivers?
Like a taxicab driver, Lyft and Uber drivers are common carriers. As such, they must exercise the utmost care, skill, and diligence in transporting passengers safely from destination to destination. This is important to know since the jury will be instructed that the duty of care is a ‘high duty of care.’
This is defined as the degree of care that would be used by a very cautious, competent, and prudent person under the same or similar circumstances. This is a higher degree of care owned than the typical driver who must only exercise ordinary prudence.
The higher standard of care must be timely requested by the attorney seeking to impose the standard upon the Uber or Lyft driver. Failure to timely request the standard and accompanying instruction will result in a waiver of the imposition of the higher standard.
This is one reason why you must have a knowledgeable Lyft or Uber accident attorney handling your case. Call today and schedule a free consultation about your case with an attorney who understands Lyft and Uber cases.
What Types of Damages Can I Claim?
Just like any automobile accident, the victim of the accident will claim damages. The most common are:
- Medical Expenses
- Mental Anguish
- Pain & Suffering
- Lost Wages
How Much Insurance Do Uber and Lyft Drivers Carry?
The driver may have as little as the state-required minimum or as much as one million dollars. The amount of coverage may be determined by whether the driver was logged on, whether he was assigned a fare, and/or what personal coverage he has.
Insurance coverage for Lyft and Uber drivers can be tricky if you are not familiar with how it works. If you are injured in an accident due to the negligence of a ride-share driver, the coverage may vary depending upon which one of the three fact scenarios your collision falls under:
- The driver was not logged into the Uber or Lyft App. If the driver is not logged in, that is he is not working at the time nor waiting on an assignment, then you are covered solely by his personal auto insurance coverage. This may be as low as $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident as is required by the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act found in Texas Transportation Code 601.051 and applicable to all drivers.
- The driver was logged in but waiting on a fare to be assigned. Once the driver logs in, both Uber and Lyft provide the driver with liability coverage of $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage.
- The driver has been assigned a fare. Once a fare has been matched to a driver, Uber and Lyft provide that driver with $1,000,000 in both liability insurance coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
How Much Liability Coverage Does A Uber or Lyft Driver Carry?
If you are hit by an Uber driver or a Lyft driver (at fault) while you are not a passenger in their vehicle, the amount of liability coverage the driver has will depend entirely upon his status above.
- If he or she is assigned to a passenger there is 1 Million in coverage.
- If he or she is logged in and waiting but unassigned, there is $50,000 per person up to $100,000 total.
- If he or she is off duty then his personal insurance applies–which varies from state to state but can be as low as $30,000 in Texas. (But beware if you are traveling, some states allow as low as $10,000!)
Insurance Coverage Implications for Lyft and Uber Passengers
If you are a passenger riding in a Lyft or Uber, you should be covered with $1,000,000 regardless of whether the Lyft or Uber driver is at fault or another driver causes the collision. The only possible loophole might be that you could lose his underinsured motorist coverage in a scenario where he is dropping you off and he marks his fare as complete to get the next fare assigned and then gets hit. This would be important where the driver who hits you has no or insufficient insurance and you have no or insufficient uninsured motorist coverage.
Schedule A Free Consultation With A Lyft or Uber Accident Lawyer
Uber cases are nothing new to Simmons and Fletcher, P.C., Injury & Accident Lawyers. If you were injured while riding in an Uber, speak with one of our accident attorneys today to determine what insurance coverage applies to you and how to make a claim.
The consultation is free and we charge no attorney fees nor expenses unless we make a recovery. Call 1-800-298-0111 today!