Filing Claims Against Safe Auto Insurance Company
Safe Auto Insurance Company was founded in Columbus, Ohio in 1993 and has grown to sell auto insurance across numerous states, including: Arizona, California, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. They are a privately-owned company doing over $300,000,000 in revenue. Thus, safe auto insurance claims are not uncommon.
Safe Auto Insurance Policies
Safe Auto Insurance provide both standard and nonstandard insurance policies, but they specialize in marketing to the nonstandard insurance market. This means that many of their drivers cannot obtain insurance through the bigger standard carriers due to issues like bad driving history, bad credit, high risk drivers and/or vehicles or age. It also means that many of the Safe Auto Insurance customers are carrying insurance policies that merely meet the low minimum requirements of the state in which the driver lives. In Texas, that means they carry liability only with coverage of $30,000.00 per person they hurt up to a total of $60,000.00 per accident and $25,000.00 for property damage. While Safe Auto does issue some bigger policies, the minimum limits policies are more common.
Safe Auto Insurance Claims
Before filing Safe Auto Claim, you be aware that nonstandard insurers are not always the easiest to deal with when filing claims. In Texas, they do not have to tell you how much coverage they have. If they have a bigger policy, they do not have to tell you this unless you file a lawsuit and force them too under oath. This can make determining whether any settlement offer they make pre-suit is reasonable or not.
What Do I Need to File A Safe Auto Claim?
Hopefully, you called the police and had a police report made. You should always do this in any accident to prevent the other driver from changing his story. If so, you should have the police report number to provide. Additionally, you will need complete documentation of your losses and injuries. Your medical bills and records from each of your providers as well as documentation proving lost wages that you are claiming.
Do Not Give a Recorded Statement
You should never give a recorded statement to an insurance company without your own lawyer present. Insurance companies are notorious for training their adjusters to trick you into saying inaccurate things that hurt your case. If a Safe Auto claim adjuster insists upon a recorded statement, it could be because they plan to dispute liability.
Get a Free Consultation
Simmons and Fletcher, P.C. have been handling car accidents since 1979. We offer a free consultation and if you trust us with your case, we charge no fees unless we win your case. Don’t let an adjuster give you the run-around after a car accident, call us at 1-800-298-0111.
Paul Cannon has practiced personal injury trial law since 1995. He is Board Certified in Personal Injury Trial Law (2005). He has earned recognition as a Super Lawyer by Thompson Reuters in 2017 & 2018, and as a Top 100 Trial Lawyer by the National Trial Lawyers Association in 2017. He is a Shareholder, trial lawyer and online marketing manager at Simmons and Fletcher, P.C. His legal writings have been published by the Texas Bar Journal, Business.com, Lawyer.com HG Legal Resources, Lawfirms.com, and others. He has been asked to give education talks and media interviews on dog bite law.